when in rome

Cheesy title? Yes. But when will I ever go back to Rome? Not any time soon. Although it was nice to get a few days away from work and travel to a new place to see beautiful art and to catch up with my friend David who was over from Perth, Rome left a sour taste in my mouth. Just a little. Firstly it was a bad decision to go in July because the heat and humidity was unbearable, so I won’t be doing that again. Secondly, three count em THREE of my flights got cancelled and I ended up having to shell out 250 euros to get a flight back to London…Stansted! All because Starbucks burnt down part of the Fiumicino Airport. Anyway, you can see why even though I saw amazing things I will not look back on the trip with the fondness that I should have. It’s a shame but I am happy I went because I got to see some art that I studied at uni and ate a whole lot of delicious food. I even stumbled upon the rehearsal for the Valentino couture show, now that was exciting!

IMG_0218
When the Trevi Fountain is covered in scaffolding, look behind you!
IMG_0224
I saw something similiar in London…
IMG_0222
Even while under conservation, still beautiful.
IMG_0225

IMG_0229 IMG_0228

IMG_0239

Giolitti, the main reason why I went to Rome
Giolitti, the main reason why I went to Rome
I didn't go for summer flavours but it was so delicious!
I didn’t go for summer flavours but it was so delicious!
Ginger, great food and lovely juices
Ginger, great food and lovely juices
Sunset behind Piazza del Popolo
Sunset behind Piazza del Popolo
Heading to the Galleria Borghese
Heading to the Galleria Borghese
Early morning, beating some of the heat
Early morning, beating some of the heat
IMG_0428

The Galleria Borghese was the highlight of my trip, one which deserves its own post.
Bernini sculptures next to Alaïa couture, it was breathtaking!

Was it worth it?
Was it worth it?
Always look down
Always look down
Get me outta here!
Get me outta here!
The usual sights
The usual sights
Sunset from the top of the Spanish Steps on my last night, arrivederci!
Sunset from the top of the Spanish Steps on my last night, arrivederci!
IMG_0467

Sun tipped
Sun tipped

IMG_0487 IMG_0477

Over the Alps, goodbye Italy
Over the Alps, goodbye Italy

As well as my post dedicated to the Galleria Borghese look out for a post with the film I shot in Rome, currently waiting on development!

Tell me what you think...

