a day well spent on Piccadilly

Piccadilly is somewhere I find myself quite frequently for a myriad of reasons. Most times I will just end up there during my wanderings, but this weekend I make a specific trip to see an exhibition and also to visit some places I would like to share with you.

First stop, after emerging from the Underground at Green Park, was the Royal Academy of Arts to see the Summer Exhibition. I went to this exhibition last year and although it’s not my favourite format (hanging hundreds of pictures in a small space) I do enjoy walking through and having my eye drawn to some works that stand out to me.

Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 8
Conrad Shawcross RA, The Dappled Light of Sun, in the courtyard

Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 2The first room is always (as I can judge from only attending twice…) a big show stopper to get you looking up in the form of Liam Gillick’s Applied Projection Rig. I adore Alexander Calder’s mobiles so anything hanging & colourful gets my attention easily.

Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 4

I enjoy the rooms that are a bit more spread out and Gallery III was also a nice shade of pink.

Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 pink Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 7

Here are some other pieces that caught my eye.

Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 6
962 – Elizabeth Zeschin, Sadie and the Bird
Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 5
999 – Sophie Smallhorn, Component Cube 2
Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015 3
1111-1131 – Tom Phillips RA, A Humument

I really enjoyed the final room dispaying pages from Tom Phillips’ work, A Humument. I even bought a postcard!

Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 2015

Another place I like to spend a lot of time at on Piccadilly is the massive Waterstones. So many floors, so many books! I especially enjoy how the stairs have worn down steps next to the balustrade. It makes me imagine all those book lovers who have climbed the stairs in search of knowledge. Lets ignore that this buildings only became Waterstones at the turn of this century.

Waterstones book store PiccadillyIf you mange to cross Piccadilly Circus with your life then I highly recommend paying a visit to the Japan Centre (Shaftesbury Avenue) and JP Books just around the corner (Denman Street). Pick up a cute cat bowl (or twenty) on your way up to peruse and purchase wonderful Japanese foods and then go and get ALL the cute stationery around the corner!

Japan Centre Piccadilly JP booksI hope you enjoyed this short trip down Piccadilly, if you know of any secret spots around there please let me know as I’m bound to wander along it again very soon.

Tell me what you think...

