photographer feature: Guy Bourdin

Last week I visited the Guy Bourdin: Image Maker exhibition at Somerset House. Having some idea of his work already I was pleasantly surprised by how inspired I was by his work. I particularly like the consistency of his work and how he uses ideas multiple times without it becoming tiresome, every shot is fresh and new. The way he plays with sexual exposure through hiding models behind tables, lampposts and Polaroids of them is what really fascinates me about his work. The show is excellently curated and I might have to go again just to see all the things I missed.

Charles Jourdan, 1979
French Vogue, Charles Jourdan, September 1979
Charles Jourdan, Fall 1977
French Vogue, December 1976
Charles Jourdan, Winter 1975
Charles Jourdan, Spring 1978
Charles Jourdan, Spring 1978
Charles Jourdan, Spring 1978

All images © Guy Bourdin

Tell me what you think...

