full time exhibition-goer

With any job you have to deal with a lot of paperwork, it’s all a matter of keeping it under control. It might differ slightly for people who frequent exhibitions because there’s always such nice things to take away. It took everything in me not to take one of every ‘In The Making‘ pamphlet although after reading through the ones I did get (Macbook Pro, £2 commemorative coin & S Stock Underground train) I wish I had because they are really interesting! I’m a sucker for exhibition brochures and I have a box (not yet full) of it because I like to take a trip back and remember the exhibitions I’ve seen.

Over the weekend I visited the new shows up at The Photographers Gallery, the Richard Hamilton retrospective at Tate Modern and  the Designs of the Year 2014 & (revisited) Paul Smith shows at the Design Museum. The parts I enjoyed the most were Lorna Simpson and John Deakin at TPG, seeing multiple work I studied at Richard Hamilton (My Marilyn, The Large Glass, Chrysler etc. etc.) and finding more little nuances in the Paul Smith show (first seen on last day of extension, now re-extended forever I assume). The best thing is I can go back to the paid exhibitions again if I need to (usually a second look is very rewarding) because I get in for free thanks to my V&A employment. Working there is rewarding on so many levels.

Enough chatter, here are some snaps I took during my art & design adventure.

Physical memories

Richard Hamilton's Treatment Room

The view from Tate Modern

Design award contender

Karl Lagerfeld drawing in the Paul Smith show

A nice view after a long day walking and looking at things

Tell me what you think...

