london countdown – proximity

Actually getting somewhere in two hours

If you travelled for two hours from Perth you’d probably end up nowhere which is why I’m looking forward to being in London with many places so close. It’s the kind of place where I can say to my twin Aoife, who is studying in Dublin this semester, “hey let’s go to Paris for our birthday” and we actually can. And if it’s not Paris then there’s the rest of Europe to choose from. I think one of the main reasons why there are so many Aussie backpackers is because we have to travel to every country within a few months to justify the cost of the plane ticket and hours spent in airports reading trashy magazines. The art historian in me in tingling at the thought of being so close to so much art, I can’t wait to get the opportunity to travel to places I’ve only read or been told about and it wont cost me an arm and a leg and my soul to get there.

 

Tell me what you think...

