search for the perfect french word

I find myself in a bit of a blogging rut, mostly due to the fact that today is the 4th day in a row that I have not left the house. Tomorrow will make it the 5th and then I will be getting up early Thursday morning to sit my French exam which has caused my temporary house arrest. While I have been studying I have found various verbs and phrases highly amusing which may come across a bit like Carrie Bradshaw’s “Search for the perfect french fry” article but I might as well fill the space with something!

Now these translations come from my French textbook so you wont get the exact same ones if you put it into a translator.

étouffer – to suffocate or to cramp one’s style

entrouvrir – to half open

parcourir – to travel up and down

se peigner – to comb one’s hair

And my all time favourite is the French equivalent of saying “That’s the last straw”

C’est la goutt d’eau qui fait déborder la vase!

Which, if you translate it literally means: This is the droplet of water which makes the vase overflow!

You see how much fun learning French can be?

2 thoughts on “search for the perfect french word

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not
    writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

