Deer me

Recently I went to this shop that has been sitting across from Oats Street train station for an age but I never went in because of the ridiculous name and the thought that there wouldn’t be much of interest inside. The shop I am talking about is Booksabilia and it has books and memorabilia (you guessed it!) but to my surprise they also have an array of nice antique ornaments, records and a cabinet with a whole shelf of vintage jewellery. I fell in love with this pair of deer ornaments, although I’m not sure about them being matching so to speak. One seems to be better quality than the other so I wonder if the second is a reproduction of the other…it doesn’t matter, they are so cute together I had to take them both. They were $20 for the pair, a lot of the other items in this shop are a bit pricy but if you fall in love you must have it!

Two deer ornaments

I am a little bit obsessed with deer and woodland creatures in general. Who wasn’t emotionally scarred by Bambi as a child? I also have a cute furry deer that I got from Mr Sparrow in Subiaco, a Bucky Jnr. from Cardboard Safari that has been on my wall for a couple of years nowย and I have received two cards through Postcrossing that have deer on them which means I pretty much have a collection now.

Postcard received from America

A beautiful Fawn Mule Deer postcard sent from Colorado, USA

Postcard received from Croatia

And some more deer on a postcard sent from Croatia

Anyway that’s enough fawning over deer, if you have a lot of time on your hands then pop on the train and go visit Booksabilia, it’s literally right across the road and you need to allow a fair bit of time to look through all of their stock and to have a long conversation with the lovely Patricia about cleaning silver and other strange but wonderful things.

Booksabilia
67 Oats Street Carlisle WA 6101
Open 10-5 Tuesday-Sunday, Closed Monday
website

One thought on “Deer me

Tell me what you think...

